The Shadow Over Innsmouth

A young man's travels in search of antiquarian architecture and his own family history brings him to the ill-regarded Massachusetts town of Innsmouth. There he uncovers horrors beyond his worst imaginings, barely escaping with his life and sanity.

Lovecraft wrote the story in 1931 after a visit to Newburyport and the surrounding region. Long considered one of Lovecraft's most popular tales, the Dark Adventure Radio Theatre edition brings it to life in all its monstrous and malodorous glory. This old-time radio adaptation features a cast of more than a dozen professional actors, exciting sound effects and a thrilling original musical score by Troy Sterling Nies. Sit down, dim the lights, fire up the wireless and enjoy 77 minutes of exciting Lovecraftian drama, suspense and cosmic horror.

Get it now!


To enhance your listening pleasure, the HPLHS has packed the jewel case for The Shadow Over Innsmouth with carefully created props from the story. You'll have

  • A hand-drawn map of Innsmouth on a piece of wrapping paper from the First National grocery chain. And the strange stain on the page really is scratch-n-sniff. Ew.
  • A matchbook from Innsmouth's famed Gilman House Hotel
  • A souvenir postcard from the Newburyport Historical Society, featurning the strange golden tiara of the Deep Ones (illustration by noted fantasy artist Keith Thompson)
  • A page from the New York Evening Graphic recounting the government's raid on Innsmouth
  • Track Listing

    1. Opening 1:59
    2. Innsmouth 27:03
    3. Zadok Allen 19:31
    4. The Escape 17:18
    5. Legacy 10:01
    6. Closing 1:09
    Total Runtime 77:01

    Cast and Crew

    Leslie Baldwin...Operator
    Sean Branney...Station Agent, Creepy Customer
    Kacey Camp...Anna Tilton
    Mark Colson...Gilman House Clerk, Rude Passenger
    Dan Conroy...Agent McGraw
    Steve Coombs...Grocery Store Clerk
    Matt Foyer...Robert Olmstead
    McKerrin Kelly...Librarian
    Andrew Leman...Nathan Reed, Joe Sargent, Uncle Walter
    Barry Lynch...Zadok Allen
    John A. McKenna...E. Lapham Peabody, Evil-Looking Man
    Josh Thoemke...Announcer
    Noah Wagner...Chester Langfield
    John Callaghan, David G Cercone II, Reber Clark, Kevin Dole, Nick Pendleton...Croaking Deep Ones

    Based on the story by H. P. Lovecraft
    Radio adaptation by Sean Branney and Andrew Leman
    Original music by Troy Sterling Nies
    Audio engineering by Chris Horvath
    Cover and disc illustrations by Darrell Tutchton
    Bonus props by Andrew Leman and Sean Branney
    Innsmouth Tiara illustration by Keith Thompson
    Thanks to David Pavao, John Holman and S. T. Joshi
    Produced by Sean Branney and Andrew Leman

    Script, Liner Notes & More

    If you're the kind of unusual soul who enjoys tales of horrid fish frogs plotting their domination over mankind, we have other items you might like too.

    The Shadow Over Innsmouth Poster - by weird illustrator Darrell Tutchton

    Esoteric Order of Dagon Sticker - show your favorite fishy congregation

    Esoteric Order of Dagon Hoodie - available as pullover or deluxe zip-up

    Innsmouth Combo - get the CD, poster, sticker and hoodie all at once

    Innsmouth High School Swim Team Shirt - show your school spirit

    For your enjoyment, we present free PDF downloads of the final recording script and liner notes of The Shadow Over Innsmouth. Note: this script is only for use for reading along with Dark Adventure Radio Theatre; no performance of the script may be made without written consent of the HPLHS.

    At the Mountains of Madness
    Episode 1
    At the Mountains of Madness
    The Dunwich Horror
    Episode 2
    The Dunwich Horror
    The Shadow Out of Time
    Episode 3
    The Shadow Out of Time
    Liner Notes
    Liner Notes
    The Shadow Over Innsmouth